SquaredFinancial in 60 Seconds
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Main reason to consider SquaredFinancial | Choice of spread-only SquaredPro or raw-spread SquaredElite pricing, with MT4 and MT5 support. |
| Biggest drawback | Leverage varies sharply by jurisdiction, and withdrawal issues can be difficult to resolve. |
| Minimum deposit | Broker-wide minimum: $0; account and payment-route thresholds can be higher. |
| Pricing model | SquaredPro has no FX commission and spreads from 1.2 pips; SquaredElite has spreads from 0.0 pips and a $5-per-lot FX commission. |
| Main platforms | MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and the SquaredFinancial mobile app. |
| Main markets | Forex, stocks, indices, commodities and other products including ETFs and futures. |
| Maximum leverage | Up to 1:2000 on major forex pairs, gold and silver for international accounts under Seychelles regulation; EU limits are lower, including 1:30 for major FX pairs. |
| Best suited to | Traders comparing commission-free pricing with raw spreads, or using MT4/MT5 automation and copy trading. |
| Less suited to | EU-based traders seeking very high leverage, or traders who need consistently straightforward withdrawal support. |
The account choice can change the cost structure, while jurisdiction determines how much leverage is available. Those two conditions matter more than the headline maximum alone.
Pros
- SquaredPro has no FX commission, while SquaredElite offers raw spreads from 0.0 pips with a $5-per-lot FX commission.
- MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors, and the broker also offers API trading and VPS hosting.
- Copy and social trading are available through SQ CopyTrade and MetaTrader integrations.
Cons
- Maximum leverage depends on jurisdiction and account type; EU major-FX leverage is capped at 1:30.
- Withdrawal experiences can involve difficult-to-resolve issues and unclear communication.
- The average EUR/USD and GBP/USD spreads are 2 pips and 3 pips, respectively.
How SquaredFinancial Works
The basic trading model
SquaredFinancial offers leveraged trading across forex, indices, commodities and stocks, alongside ETFs, futures and other products. Stock exposure is mainly through CFDs, so traders do not own the underlying shares or receive voting rights. Index and commodity exposure is also through leveraged derivatives rather than ownership of an index or physical commodity.
Clients can choose SquaredPro, which has no FX commission and builds trading costs into the spread, or SquaredElite, which combines raw spreads with a per-lot FX commission. Both account types use MT4 or MT5. SquaredFinancial also offers its own mobile app, copy and social trading through SQ CopyTrade and MetaTrader, plus API access for more advanced workflows.
Important regional differences
SquaredFinancial operates under Cyprus and Seychelles regulatory jurisdictions. International accounts under Seychelles regulation may access leverage up to 1:2000 on major forex pairs, gold and silver. EU accounts under CySEC rules have lower limits, including 1:30 for major FX pairs, 1:20 for minor FX and 1:10 for commodities. Exact leverage also depends on the account type and applicable entity.
The Costs That Matter
Trading costs
SquaredPro is commission-free for FX, with costs incorporated into spreads from 1.2 pips. SquaredElite offers raw spreads from 0.0 pips and charges $5 per lot on FX. These are account-level starting spreads; the separate figures below are average spreads for selected instruments.
| Instrument | Typical / Average Spread | Commission |
|---|---|---|
| EUR/USD | 2 pips average | SquaredPro: no FX commission; SquaredElite: $5 per lot on FX |
| GBP/USD | 3 pips average | SquaredPro: no FX commission; SquaredElite: $5 per lot on FX |
| Gold (XAU/USD) | 0.17 points average | No separate metal commission is listed in current public specifications; pricing is through spreads. The $5/lot SquaredElite commission is explicitly an FX-account commission. |
| S&P 500 CFD | 1 points average | No separate index commission is listed in current public specifications; pricing is through spreads. The $5/lot SquaredElite commission is explicitly an FX-account commission. |
The account descriptions specify the FX commission. They do not establish a commission figure for the gold or S&P 500 CFD rows.
Non-trading costs
SquaredFinancial charges no deposit, withdrawal or inactivity fee. Currency conversion fees apply when the transaction or instrument currency differs from the account’s base currency, at prevailing market exchange rates. Leveraged positions held beyond the market close may incur overnight swaps; the amount depends on the asset and whether the position is long or short. Swap-free accounts waive rollover interest, with position-holding limits that vary by asset.
Payment-provider charges are method-specific. Check the client area for the fee quoted for a particular deposit or withdrawal rather than assuming the broker’s fee policy covers any external provider charge.
Cost takeaway
SquaredPro may be easier to assess for lower-volume FX trading because it has no FX commission, although its costs are embedded in the spread. SquaredElite separates spread and commission, which may be more relevant to higher-volume traders but requires accounting for the $5-per-lot FX charge. Currency conversion and overnight financing can add costs beyond the displayed spread.
The Costs That Matter
- SquaredPro has no FX commission, with spreads from 1.2 pips.
- SquaredElite combines raw spreads from 0.0 pips with a $5-per-lot FX commission.
- Currency conversion fees and overnight swaps can apply in addition to trading spreads.
Choosing Your SquaredFinancial Setup
Account options
| Account | Pricing model | Minimum deposit | Platform access | Main restriction | Most relevant for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SquaredPro | No FX commission; spreads from 1.2 pips | $100 on the comparison page; some homepage variants show a promotional $0 | MT4 / MT5 | No separate account-specific restriction is stated; general regional/entity rules apply. | Traders who prefer spread-based FX pricing |
| SquaredElite | Raw spreads from 0.0 pips; $5 per lot FX commission | $5,000 | MT4 / MT5 | No separate account-specific restriction is stated; general regional/entity rules apply. | Higher-volume traders seeking raw spreads |
The main choice is how FX trading costs are presented: SquaredPro has no FX commission and starts from wider spreads, while SquaredElite has raw spreads and a $5-per-lot FX commission. SquaredElite’s $5,000 minimum deposit is materially higher than SquaredPro’s $100 comparison-page threshold.
Platform choices
| Platform | Web | Desktop | Mobile | Automation | Main Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MetaTrader 4 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes — Expert Advisors (MQL4) on the desktop/VPS environment | Full MQL4/EAs/custom-script functionality is desktop/VPS-centric; the browser/mobile clients do not provide the full desktop automation environment. |
| MetaTrader 5 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes — Expert Advisors (MQL5), Strategy Tester and MQL5 automation on desktop/VPS | Full EA/custom-code development and testing are desktop/VPS-centric; browser/mobile versions are primarily for trading and monitoring. |
| SquaredFinancial mobile app | No | No | Yes | No native user-programmable algorithmic engine identified; custom automation, where available, uses another supported platform/API. | Mobile proprietary app; no custom algorithmic-development environment was verified. |
MT4 and MT5 are the relevant choices for traders who need desktop Expert Advisors, custom scripts or strategy testing. The proprietary SquaredFinancial app is mobile-only, and its automation cell does not establish a user-programmable engine.
Base currency and account configuration
Account base currencies include EUR, USD, GBP, CHF and ZAR. Currency conversion fees can apply when funding, withdrawing or trading in a currency different from the account’s base currency. SquaredFinancial says additional base-currency options, including HKD, may depend on the entity.
A demo account is available. Islamic swap-free accounts are offered on MT4 and MT5; the broker says they remove standard overnight swap fees, while asset-specific holding limits may apply. The Islamic-account terms describe leverage up to 1:500, so this should not be conflated with the separate international maximum of 1:2000.
Choosing Your SquaredFinancial Setup
- SquaredPro has a $100 comparison-page minimum; SquaredElite requires $5,000.
- MT4 and MT5 provide the desktop/VPS environment for full Expert Advisor and custom-code workflows.
- The SquaredFinancial proprietary app is mobile-only.
What You Can Trade
SquaredFinancial offers several leveraged market categories, with stock exposure mainly through CFDs. The approximate counts below distinguish its principal categories from the broader “Other” group.
| Market | Approx. Number | Important Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Forex | 40 | Leveraged FX trading. Leverage, swap charges and pair availability can differ by account and legal entity. |
| Stocks | ≈1,900 | Share exposure is mainly through CFDs. Traders do not own the shares or receive voting rights; short positions and overnight financing can apply. |
| Indices | ≈20 | Exposure is through leveraged derivatives rather than ownership of an index. Cash or futures pricing, trading hours and overnight charges can differ. |
| Commodities | ≈20 | Exposure is mainly through leveraged derivatives linked to spot or futures prices. Rollover, financing and trading-hour breaks can apply. |
| Bonds | Not offered | - |
| Cryptocurrencies | Not offered | - |
| Other | ≈20 | This group can include ETFs, futures, options, baskets or other leveraged products. Eligibility, margin and trading hours can differ by platform and account. |
What You Can Trade
- The broker offers approximately 1,900 stock CFDs; traders do not own the underlying shares or receive voting rights.
- The instrument range includes about 40 forex pairs and approximately 20 indices.
- SquaredFinancial does not offer bonds or cryptocurrencies.
What Trading Is Like in Practice
Order execution
SquaredFinancial uses market execution. Execution prices are not guaranteed: orders fill at the next available price, typically within milliseconds to a few seconds, so traders do not have fixed-price control. Slippage can therefore occur, particularly when the next available price differs from the price seen when the order was submitted.
Leverage, margin and stop-out
The maximum leverage depends on jurisdiction and account type. International accounts under Seychelles regulation may access up to 1:2000 on major forex pairs, gold and silver; EU accounts under CySEC rules are capped at 1:30 for major FX pairs, with lower limits for other CFDs, including 1:20 for minor FX and 1:10 for commodities. SquaredPro and SquaredElite account conditions separately specify leverage up to 1:500.
The margin-call level is 100%, and the stop-out margin level is 50%. These thresholds matter alongside leverage: a higher maximum does not remove the risk of positions being closed when account margin falls to the broker’s stop-out level.
Trading restrictions
SquaredFinancial allows scalping and hedging. Standard news trading is permitted, but high-frequency strategies and latency arbitrage that manipulate server execution speeds during high-impact news are prohibited; trades may be cancelled or accounts terminated if automated systems exploit pricing lags.
MT4 and MT5 support Expert Advisors, and the broker offers API trading and VPS hosting for automated workflows. VPS access is generally tied to the SquaredFinancial Premium Program and may require meeting account-balance or deposit tiers, often around $1,000.
Day-to-day usability
Traders can use a demo account before funding a live account. The broker also offers an economic calendar and Trading Central insights, as well as SQ CopyTrade and cross-server copy and social trading through MT4 and MT5. Copy trading requires a minimum balance of $50, and users can modify or close mirrored positions.
What Trading Is Like in Practice
- Market execution fills at the next available price, so prices are not guaranteed and slippage can occur.
- Margin call is 100%, and stop-out is 50%.
- High-frequency strategies and latency arbitrage that manipulate execution during high-impact news are prohibited.
From Sign-Up to First Trade
1. Eligibility
SquaredFinancial restricts residents of the United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Iran, North Korea, Cuba, Syria, Belarus, Myanmar, Russia, South Sudan, Venezuela, Yemen, Algeria, Angola, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Democratic Republic of Congo, Haiti, Kenya, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Monaco, Namibia, Nepal, Papua New Guinea, Vietnam and the British Virgin Islands.
2. Registration
Applicants register online and select an account configuration. SquaredPro and SquaredElite are the two live account types. A demo account is also available.
3. Verification
Live-account applicants must complete KYC verification. The required documents include a valid government-issued identity document, such as a passport, national ID card or driving licence, and proof of residence such as a recent utility bill or bank statement. Proof of residence is usually dated within the previous three to six months.
4. Initial funding
The broker-wide minimum deposit is $0, while account and payment-route thresholds can be higher. SquaredPro has a $100 minimum on the comparison page, with some homepage variants showing a promotional $0; SquaredElite requires $5,000. The supported deposit methods each have a $250 minimum.
5. Getting ready to trade
Choose MT4, MT5 or the SquaredFinancial mobile app, then review the leverage that applies to your entity and account. A demo account is available for practice. Traders who want swap-free terms can ask customer support to convert a standard account to Islamic status.
From Sign-Up to First Trade
- Live-account applicants must complete KYC with identity and proof-of-residence documents.
- Residents of the United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Australia and the other named restricted jurisdictions cannot open accounts.
- The supported deposit methods each have a $250 minimum.
Depositing and Withdrawing Money
Deposits
| Method | Minimum | Broker Fee | Broker Processing | Expected Settlement |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $250 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | 1–3 business days | 1–3 business days | |
| $250 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | Instant | Instant | |
| $250 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | Instant | Instant | |
| $250 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | Instant | Instant | |
| $250 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | Instant | Instant | |
| $250 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | Instant | Instant | |
| $250 | Not publicly specified, check broker Client Portal/payment provider | Instant | Instant |
Most supported electronic deposit routes are processed instantly, while the route represented by method.93 takes 1–3 business days. The broker charges no deposit fee, but payment-provider charges may still apply.
Withdrawals
| Method | Minimum | Broker Fee | Broker Processing | Expected Settlement |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| $100 | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | |
| $100 | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | |
| $100 | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | |
| $100 | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | |
| $100 | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | |
| $100 | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | |
| $100 | Method/provider-specific, check the current client-area withdrawal quote | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes | Finance-team processing can be within about 30 minutes |
The withdrawal timing in the table refers to finance-team processing; arrival at an external bank or payment provider can take longer. SquaredFinancial also reports typical bank-wire withdrawals of 2–5 business days, card payouts of 3–10 business days and e-wallet withdrawals of 1–2 business days.
Depositing and Withdrawing Money
- Deposit minimums are $250 for each supported payment method.
- Withdrawal minimums are $100 for each supported payment method.
- Finance-team withdrawal processing can be about 30 minutes, but external settlement may take longer.
Customer Support
| Support Channel | Available | Hours | Languages / Important Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yes | Monday–Friday, 7 am–9 pm GMT+3 | English, Arabic, Chinese, Spanish and French; [email protected] | |
| Phone | Yes | Monday–Friday, 7 am–9 pm GMT+3 | English, Arabic, Chinese, Spanish and French; 002484671943 |
| Live chat | Yes | Monday–Friday, 7 am–9 pm GMT+3 | English, Arabic, Chinese, Spanish and French |
Availability
Customer support operates Monday to Friday, from 7 am until 9 pm GMT+3. The broker also gives its support schedule as 24/5.
How traders can get help
Traders can contact support by email, phone or live chat. The listed support languages are English, Arabic, Chinese, Spanish and French.
Support limitations
Withdrawal issues can be difficult to resolve, and communication about them can be unclear. Traders who expect to rely on support for withdrawal follow-up should factor in this service concern.
Customer Support
- Email, phone and live chat support operate Monday to Friday, 7 am–9 pm GMT+3.
- Support languages include English, Arabic, Chinese, Spanish and French.
- Withdrawal issues can be difficult to resolve, and communication can be unclear.
What Protects Your Money?
SquaredFinancial operates under CySEC and Seychelles FSA regulation, with client protections differing by the entity serving the account. It says client funds are kept in segregated bank accounts and provides negative balance protection. The Cyprus-regulated entity has an additional Investor Compensation Fund qualification for eligible retail clients.
Legal entities and regulators
| Client Region | Regulator | License / Registration | Main Protection |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cyprus / EU clients served by the Cyprus-regulated entity | CySEC | 329/17 | Eligible retail clients may be covered by the Investor Compensation Fund if the firm cannot return client funds and/or financial instruments. |
| International clients served under Seychelles regulation | FSA (Seychelles) | SD024 | Current SquaredFinancial materials state that client funds held in segregated accounts are covered by a Lloyd's of London excess-of-loss policy, subject to terms, with a maximum payout of US$1,000,000 per client. The current public protection page does not establish a universal negative-balance-protection entitlement, so that claim is not included here. |
Client money protections
SquaredFinancial says client deposits are held in segregated bank accounts separate from its corporate funds. It also offers negative balance protection, intended to prevent an account balance from falling below zero during extreme market volatility. The Investor Compensation Fund applies to eligible retail clients of the CySEC entity if the firm is unable to return client funds and/or financial instruments; it should not be assumed to cover every client or entity.
Company transparency
SquaredFinancial was founded in 2005 and is not publicly traded.
Important distinction
Segregation, negative balance protection and any eligible compensation-scheme coverage address different risks. They do not protect traders from ordinary losses caused by market movements or unsuccessful positions.
What Protects Your Money?
- SquaredFinancial operates under CySEC regulation in Cyprus and FSA regulation in Seychelles.
- Eligible retail clients of the CySEC entity may qualify for Investor Compensation Fund coverage if the firm cannot return client funds or financial instruments.
- SquaredFinancial says it segregates client funds and offers negative balance protection.
The Biggest Catch With SquaredFinancial
What the headline claim suggests
A maximum leverage of 1:2000 can sound like a general account feature. It is not: the maximum applies to international accounts under Seychelles regulation for major forex pairs, gold and silver, and the exact limit also depends on the account type.
What happens in practice
EU accounts under CySEC rules have much lower leverage caps, including 1:30 for major FX pairs, 1:20 for minor FX and 1:10 for commodities. SquaredPro and SquaredElite account terms separately specify leverage up to 1:500. Traders therefore need to identify their applicable entity and account rather than plan around the highest headline figure.
Who should care most
This distinction matters most to traders who size positions around high leverage or who assume the international maximum applies to an EU account. It is also relevant to Islamic-account applicants, whose account terms describe leverage up to 1:500.
Practical example
A trader using a Cyprus-regulated account for a major FX pair faces a 1:30 cap, not the 1:2000 international maximum. The jurisdiction changes the leverage limit before the trader even considers position size.
Who SquaredFinancial Is Really For
Consider SquaredFinancial if you...
- Want to choose between spread-only SquaredPro pricing and raw-spread SquaredElite pricing with a $5-per-lot FX commission.
- Use MT4 or MT5 Expert Advisors, API workflows or VPS hosting.
- Want copy or social trading through SQ CopyTrade or MetaTrader integrations.
You may want to look elsewhere if you...
- Are an EU trader seeking leverage above the applicable CySEC limits.
- Need withdrawal support to be straightforward, given reports of hard-to-resolve withdrawal issues and unclear communication.
- Want cryptocurrency trading, which SquaredFinancial does not offer in its instrument range.
The Bottom Line
SquaredFinancial’s clearest proposition is a choice between commission-free FX pricing and raw spreads with a per-lot commission, supported by MT4, MT5 and automation tools. Its biggest compromise is that high leverage is jurisdiction- and account-dependent, alongside withdrawal-support concerns. Traders who value account and platform choice and can work within their applicable leverage limits are most likely to accept that trade-off.
How We Reviewed SquaredFinancial
This assessment considers regulatory status, account and fee terms, trading platforms, execution conditions, funding arrangements, product coverage and customer-support experience. Broker claims, regulatory details and account-specific conditions are treated with their applicable qualifications. For more detail on how brokers are assessed, see our review methodology.
Contact Info
- Website:
- https://www.squaredfinancial.com
- Email:
- [email protected]
- Phone:
- 002484671943
- Company Address:
- Archiepiskopou Makariou, 205 Victory House, Ground Floor, Shop 1, 3030, Limassol, Cyprus
FAQ
Is SquaredFinancial regulated?
SquaredFinancial operates under CySEC regulation in Cyprus and FSA regulation in Seychelles. The CySEC licence number is 329/17, and the Seychelles registration number is SD024. The entity serving an account affects the applicable protections and leverage limits.
What is the minimum deposit at SquaredFinancial?
The broker-wide minimum deposit is $0, but practical thresholds vary by account and payment route. SquaredPro has a $100 minimum on the comparison page, with some homepage variants showing a promotional $0, while SquaredElite requires $5,000. The supported deposit methods each have a $250 minimum.
What does SquaredFinancial charge for trading?
SquaredPro has no FX commission, with spreads from 1.2 pips. SquaredElite has raw spreads from 0.0 pips and charges $5 per lot on FX. Average spreads include 2 pips for EUR/USD and 3 pips for GBP/USD; currency conversion and overnight swaps can add costs.
Which SquaredFinancial account should I choose?
SquaredPro may suit traders who prefer spread-based FX pricing and has a $100 minimum on the comparison page. SquaredElite is aimed at higher-volume trading, with raw spreads from 0.0 pips and a $5-per-lot FX commission, but requires a $5,000 minimum deposit. Both account types support MT4 and MT5.
Which platforms does SquaredFinancial offer?
SquaredFinancial offers MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5 and its own mobile app. MT4 and MT5 have desktop, web and mobile versions; full Expert Advisor and custom-code workflows are desktop/VPS-centric. The proprietary app is mobile-only.
What is SquaredFinancial's maximum leverage?
International accounts under Seychelles regulation may access up to 1:2000 on major forex pairs, gold and silver. EU accounts have lower limits, including 1:30 for major FX pairs, while SquaredPro and SquaredElite account conditions specify leverage up to 1:500. The applicable limit depends on jurisdiction and account type.
Can I use scalping or automated trading at SquaredFinancial?
SquaredFinancial allows scalping and supports MT4/MT5 Expert Advisors, API trading and VPS hosting. Standard news trading is allowed, but high-frequency strategies and latency arbitrage that manipulate execution speeds during high-impact news are prohibited. VPS access is generally tied to the Premium Program and may require meeting account-balance or deposit tiers.
How long do SquaredFinancial withdrawals take, and does it protect against negative balances?
Finance-team processing can take about 30 minutes, but external bank or payment-provider arrival can take longer. Typical processing ranges include 2–5 business days for bank wires, 3–10 business days for card payouts and 1–2 business days for e-wallet withdrawals. SquaredFinancial also offers negative balance protection.